A few places to visit in Derbyshire

First of all, let me start by wishing you a happy New Year!

I have subconsciously been exploring Derbyshire over the last couple of months so I thought I’d share some of my photos from the different places I have visited into one post.  If you are looking to visit Derbyshire in the New Year then I hope you find this helpful.

First up was a trip to Kedleston Hall in November.  Kedleston Hall is an 18th century neo-classical mansion set in historic parkland.  It’s a really beautiful National Trust property that has great country walks.

Next up was a trip to Chatsworth in early December to see the adventures of Mr Toad exhibit.  I must confess that I didn’t take any photographs in the grounds as it was pouring with rain on the day we visited.  Damn you storm Desmond!  Chatsworth is a must if you’re in the area; not only are the house and gardens incredible but at Christmas it becomes magical; the decorations are out of this world.  If Chatsworth doesn’t put you in the festive mood nothing will!

A few days after Christmas, a walk and some fresh air was much needed after eating ALL the turkey, cheese and chocolate.  We ventured in to Matlock for fish and chips, swiftly followed with a trip to Bakewell for well, you guessed it – Bakewell tart.  Because you know, calories don’t count in December.

Matlock Bath is a strange place as it almost feels like you’re at the seaside with the arcades and the smell of fish and chips and donuts in the air.  A short stroll into Matlock town and you will find an abundance of vintage and antique shops.

I have been visiting Bakewell since I was a small child so I am very fond of it.  A Bakewell tart/pudding is an absolute must.  We went to the Lavender Tearooms and I highly recommend popping in.

Recommendations for other places to visit in Derbyshire would be very much welcomed.

Photos by yours truly, taken on a Nikon EM, 28mm 2.8, Fujifilm Superia X-tra 400 and Olympus PEN E-PL7.

4 comments on “A few places to visit in Derbyshire

  1. These places look amazing! I must get my National Trust card on a trip outside Scotland some time. Bakewell tart is my favourite, that’s the perfect excuse to visit! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

