Wollaton Hall

Wollaton Hall

Let’s take a trip down memory lane….I’m 9 years old and I’m on a school trip to Wollaton Hall.

If my memory serves me correctly, the purpose of our visit was for a Tudor experience.  I remember making a masquerade mask and a smelling salts/potpourri bag.  We then ate a Tudor-esque lunch (cold sausages, brown bread and a hard boiled egg) which we had brought with us from home, tied up in a napkin.  To finish the day we dressed up in Tudor costumes and danced around the main hall.

Sounds like a great day, right?

Even though it wouldn’t be socially acceptable for me to dress up like a Tudor and dance around in circles in the main hall nowadays, I still love to visit Wollaton.

Wollaton Hall is a Grade I listed Elizabethan house, set in 500 acres of land in Nottingham.  It opened as a museum in 1925 and houses a significant natural history collection.  Wollaton is also home to a deer park.

Wollaton HallWollaton Hall

You might recognise Wollaton Hall as the impressive Wayne Manor in the Dark Knight Rises.  Unfortunately the interior of Wayne Manor resembles nothing of the interior of Wollaton Hall; a lack of investment from Nottingham City Council over the years has left the exhibitions and spaces within the building looking tired and outdated.

Wollaton Hall

Nonetheless the architecture of Wollaton Hall is stunning and the grounds are vast, great for a Sunday afternoon walk!

Unfortunately we didn’t spot any deer when we visited a few weeks ago, but it was an opportunity for me to get to grips with my new(ish) camera.  I got the Olympus Pen E-PL7 at Christmas and I don’t think I’ve quite got the hang of it yet.

I much prefer film photography, but I’m not ready to throw in the towel just yet.  So, I’m thinking of taking a photography course as I want to be able to understand what the hell I’m doing.

Wollaton Hall

As they say, practice makes perfect.

Photos by yours truly, on a Olympus Pen E-PL7, 17mm 1.8

5 comments on “Wollaton Hall

  1. Practice does make perfect and your photos are basically perfect!

    That sounds like such a fun experience, especially the lunch. When I was at primary school, we had a similar -ish experience except it was the 19th century and I distinctly remember having to make mud bricks for the wall…..

    Like

    • Thanks Nat! They’ve been edited a fair bit, which I don’t really like doing but hopefully I’ll get better. When you think about it, it’s bizarre some of the things we did in primary school!

      Like

Leave a Reply

