Memories of Paris

 

This post has been sitting in my drafts since 28th May.  The reason it’s taken me so long to write is because, hold on to your hats, I didn’t fall in love with Paris.  I know, controversial.  Everyone falls in love with Paris, right?  Or am I the only one?

Don’t get me wrong, Paris is beautiful, really beautiful.  I don’t know if it was because of the recent terror attacks that left me slightly on edge; the sheer number of tourists; the street sellers; or the extremely overpriced food that left me feeling underwhelmed.

I don’t know, maybe we just did Paris wrong.  For the most part we were in the tourist hot spots so perhaps there is still so much more to Paris that is better representative of that wonderful city that everyone falls in love with.

Despite this, there were places in Paris that I thought were truly magical:

Visiting Père Lachaise Cemetery and Jim Morrison’s grave.

Seeing Monet’s Water Lilies at Musée de l’Orangerie.

Walking along the Seine and seeing the Eiffel Tower light show.

The view of Paris from the Sacré-Coeur.

So, Paris, even though you may not be my number one and we didn’t have  a great love affair, that doesn’t mean I won’t forget you.  I’d like to visit again in the future, if you’ll have me?

Photos by yours truly on a Nikon EM 35mm, 28mm 2.8, Fujifilm Superia 200

Leave a Reply

